Margaret Teltow, President
Dan Hill, Vice President
Bridget Smith, Secretary
Jeffrey Theut, Treasurer
Kristine Furtaw, Trustee
Traci Bartell, Trustee
Sarah Gillies, Trustee

Brian J. Walmsley, Ed.S.
Superintendent

Richmond Community Schools

35276 Division * Richmond, Michigan 48062 * (586) 727-3565 * www.richmond.k12.mi.us

BOARD OF EDUCATION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES OF 1-4-2016

6:30 PM ON JANUARY 4, 2016 IN THE RICHMOND HIGH SCHOOL MEDIA CENTER

MISSION STATEMENT

At Richmond Community Schools, we provide a quality education that empowers students to be successful in a global community.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES OF 1-4-2016

An Organizational Meeting and Special Meeting of the Richmond Board of Education was held on January 4, 2016 in the Richmond High School Media Center, 35320 Division, Richmond, MI 48062

1. CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Brian Walmsley, Superintendent, called the meeting to order

6:35 p.m.

2.PLEDGE: The Pledge was led this evening by Mr. Brian Walmsley

3.MISSION STATEMENT: At Richmond Community Schools, we provide a quality education

that empowers students to be successful in a global community.

Richmond Community Schools

Prior to July 1, 1996, this district was classified as a fourth class district. On July 1, 1996, the district became a general powers school district by operation of law.

The Richmond Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected for terms of six years as approved and due to election law changes requiring November elections.

Members holding office on January 1, 2015 and the expiration of their current terms are listed below:

Traci Bartell	Term expires December 31, 2016
Dan Hill	Term expires December 31, 2016
Sarah Gillies	Term expires December 31, 2018
	Appointment ends Dec., 31, 2016
Jeffrey Theut	Term expires December 31, 2018
Kristine Furtaw	Term expires December 31, 2020
Bridget Smith - Absent	Term expires December 31, 2020
Margaret Teltow	Term expires December 31, 2020

4. NOMINATION OF PRESIDENT:

President:

Superintendent, Brian Walmsley opened the nominations for President.

Member D. Hill nominated Margaret Teltow for President.

No other nominations were made and there was no discussion.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Margaret Teltow has accepted and will be Board President from January 2016 to December 31, 2016 school year by a unanimous vote.

Motion Carries

Margaret Teltow assumed the meeting as Board President and continued the nominations for officers:

5. NOMINATION OF REMAINING OFFICERS:

Vice President

Member J. Theut nominated Dan Hill for Vice President.

No other nominations were made and there was no discussion

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Dan Hill has accepted and will be Board Vice President from January 2016 to December 31, 2016 by a unanimous vote.

Motion Carries

Treasurer

Member D. Hill nominated Jeff Theut for Treasurer.

No other nominations were made and there was no discussion.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Jeff Theut accepted and will be Board Treasurer from January 2016 to December 31, 2016 by a unanimous vote.

Motion Carries

Secretary

Member D. Hill nominated Kristine Furtaw for Secretary.

No other nominations were made and there was no discussion.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Kristine Furtaw accepted and will be Board Secretary from January 2016 to December 31, 2016 by a unanimous vote.

All Ayes

Motion Carries

6. PUBLIC COMMENTS – None

7. APPROVE AGENDA

Motion: Moved by member D. Hill and supported by S. Gillies to approve the

agenda as presented.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

8. FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS:

Motion: Moved by Member K. Furtaw and supported by Member D. Hill

to accept the recommendation of the Superintendent and approve First State Bank,

PNC Bank and Flagstar Bank as the district's financial institutions.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

9. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS:

Moved by Member J. Theut and supported by Member D. Hill to accept the

recommendation of the Superintendent to approve Yeo & Yeo, CPAs & Business

Consultants as the district's financial auditors.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

10. APPOINTMENTS - MASB and MCSBA

Motion: Moved by Member K. Furtaw and supported by Member S. Gillies to nominate

Member T. Bartell as the Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB)
Legislative Relations Network representative for the Richmond Board of

Education for the 2016 year.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

Moved by Member T. Bartell and supported by Member D. Hill to nominate

Member S. Gillies as the Macomb County School Board Association (MCSBA)

Legislative Committee representative for the 2016 year.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

Moved by Member T. Bartell and supported by Member J. Theut to nominate

Member M. Teltow as the Macomb County School Board Association (MCSBA)

Legislative Committee alternate representative for the 2016 year.

Voice Vote: All Aves

Motion Carries (6-0)

11. APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEYS:

Motion: Moved by Member S. Gillies and supported by Member D. Hill to accept the

recommendation of the Superintendent and approve the following attorneys as the

district's legal counsel:

Collins and Blaha, P.C.

O'Reilly Rancilio, P.C. (Sterling Heights)

Secrest Wardle (Troy)

Thrun Law

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

12. RESOLUTION TO SET DATES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS

Motion: Moved by Member K. Furtaw and supported by Member T. Bartell to accept the

recommendation of the Superintendent and establish the $2^{\rm nd}$ and $4^{\rm th}$ Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Media Center of Richmond High School as the regular scheduled meetings of the Richmond Community Schools board of Education as

indicated on the attached documentation.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion unanimously carries. (6-0)

13. DESIGNATION OF LOCATION FOR POSTING PUBLIC NOTICES AND MEETINGS:

Motion: Moved by Member T. Bartell and supported by Member S. Gillies to approve

the recommendation of the Superintendent and establish the location for posting public notices and meetings on the District website, high school marquee and in each

building.

Voice Vote: All Ayes

Motion Carries (6-0)

14.ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned by M. Teltow at 6:57 p.m.